The First Day of Spring and the New Healthcare Bill

To celebrate the first day of Spring, we took the kiddos for a walk to our local duck pond.  On our way there, we ran into some good friends.  General chatter turned to medical school and meandered its way to the proposed health care bill.  They reminded us of its impending vote.  Actually, they reminded Ben and surprised me.  I know, I’m a great citizen.

Anyway, we soon said our good-byes and went on our way.  In the middle of  playing with our babies, we forgot about the vote.  Until the next morning.  That’s when Ben informed me it when through.

“Oh.  What does that mean?”

“I’m not sure.”

This is how I feel about the bill, as well.  Let me explain.

I know far too many people who are unable to get health insurance because of pre-existing conditions.  So, when I heard the bill is outlawing this, I did a little dance.

I won’t go into my beliefs regarding health care here, as they are multi-faceted and much too complex to explain in a little post, but I will hint at it with this statement:  People’s lives should not be endangered because they cannot afford health care.

On the other hand, I have my doubts about this reform.

First off, how are we going to pay for it?  With the deficit running at a record high, where in the heck is the money coming from?  Are taxes going to be hiked 50%?  Or, are we going to (finally) cut back on unnecessary spending? (Ahem…defense spending…ahem.)

Second off, will this affect a doctor’s pay?

See, there is a rumor going around that doctor’s pay will be cut.  (If this is wrong, feel free to correct me. ) While it may seem absurd and quite selfish to ask this question,  I think I have a justified reason for wondering.

My husband is currently looking at med schools to apply to.  There is one in particular that is at the top of the list.  Its tuition alone is $40,000 a year.  Add that to undergrad debt and, well, we will be paying off our loans for the next 5000+ years.

The money isn’t everything.  He will be spending around 70 hours a week at school.  Solo parenting, here I come.

In short, we are sacrificing money and time to send my husband through medical school.  I would really like to see SOME kind of financial pay-off!

(Of course, I married a guy who is noble.  He is thinking about going into primary care  in a low-income area–NOT esepcially lucrative .  The nerve.)

Contrary to popular belief, many students do not attend medical school because the financial pay-offs.  Believe me, the pay-offs are much lower than one would expect.  The issue really isn’t the money.  The issue, in my mind, is whether or not a cap will be placed on how much a doctor can earn.  I find that to be wrong.  I don’t see a cap being placed on a CEO’s salary! Look what good they have done for this country.

This concern could very well be founded in lies–I’m just putting it out there.

In the end, though, I am really more happy than sad that this bill passed.  It’s about time we took care of our own people.

Comments Off on The First Day of Spring and the New Healthcare Bill

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.