A History of Mental Illness: An Introduction

Over the next week (and maybe a little more), I will be exploring a part of myself that is difficult to explain yet a necessary part of understanding who I really am: my history of clinical anxiety and depression.  Inspired by this series on depression among LDS women, I’ve finally recognized that I have been hiding behind a silly belief that my mental illness would resolve itself after I do A and B.  I am beginning to understand that it’s part of who I am and I need to embrace, accept, and integrate its components so I can fully unearth the beauty that resides within my core.

Though difficult, writing this series has helped me explore my past and discover pieces that explain who I am today.  It has also led to an inner peace that I have never experienced before.  Please know that these posts will be the most revealing of anything I have ever written and I ask for respect and kindness (and please no advice) if you choose to comment.

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven

9 Comments

Filed under Month of Instrospection

9 responses to “A History of Mental Illness: An Introduction

  1. You know you have my respect. Always.

  2. Mental illness has ripped my family apart.
    It is something people don’t like to admit, don’t like to talk about, but yet is very real. I admire and respect you for being open and honest about it. Even more, for dealing with it.

  3. Pingback: A History of Mental Illness: Go and Sin No More | Making the Moments Count

  4. Pingback: A History of Mental Illness: Panic | Making the Moments Count

  5. Pingback: A History of Mental Illness: Can’t Get Up | Making the Moments Count

  6. Pingback: A History of Mental Illness: An Over Abundance of Tears | Making the Moments Count

  7. Pingback: A History of Mental Illness: A Dark Secret | Making the Moments Count

  8. Pingback: A History of Mental Illness: An Awakening | Making the Moments Count

  9. Pingback: A History of Mental Illness: They Call Me Red | Making the Moments Count